With paid sick depart packages on the rise, increasingly more states are establishing new legal guidelines for employers. One state that has taken its regulation to the following stage is Maine. The Maine paid depart regulation takes issues a step additional: paid depart for any motive.
Learn on to study all in regards to the Maine paid depart regulation, together with which workers are eligible and the way a lot depart workers can earn and use.
Transient recap of paid sick depart
Paid sick depart is paid day without work an worker can take in the event that they or a member of the family are sick. At the moment, there isn’t any federal sick depart regulation. Nonetheless, a number of states have adopted their very own paid sick depart legal guidelines. Some states with paid sick depart embrace Arizona, California, and Colorado.
As talked about, with Maine’s regulation, “An Act Authorizing Earned Worker Depart,” workers can take paid depart for causes aside from sick time.
When you dwell in a state with paid sick depart or paid depart for any motive, it is advisable know your state’s necessities. Paid depart legal guidelines by state specify info like accrued day without work charges, accrual limits, and which employers should observe the regulation.
Maine paid depart regulation
So, what units Maine aside from states with paid sick depart?
Maine’s Earned Paid Depart regulation permits workers to make use of mandated paid depart for any motive. This consists of depart for private, household, or medical causes. Nevada and Illinois are different states that permit paid depart for any motive.
Maine’s regulation was signed on Might 28, 2019. When you’re a Maine employer, it is advisable know the whos, whats, whens, wheres, and whys of the regulation. Check out some questions and solutions under to begin studying extra about Maine’s paid depart regulation.
When did the regulation go into impact?
Maine’s regulation started on January 1, 2021.
Who should take part?
Maine employers with greater than 10 workers who work greater than 120 hours in a calendar 12 months should present paid depart.
Seasonal workers usually are not eligible for Maine paid sick depart. The regulation additionally doesn’t apply to workers with collective bargaining agreements.
Small companies with fewer than 10 workers should not have to supply paid depart to workers. Once more, seasonal employers are additionally not required to take part.
How a lot paid depart can an worker accrue?
Staff can earn one hour of paid depart for each 40 hours labored. An worker can earn as much as 40 hours of paid depart yearly.
Employers have the liberty to supply extra beneficiant advantages than these mandated by state regulation.
When can workers start accruing paid depart?
Staff start accruing paid depart at the beginning of employment. Employers can implement a 120-day ready interval earlier than letting workers use accrued paid depart.
Staff are required to supply “cheap discover” of their intent to take depart (besides within the case of emergencies or unpredicted occasions or diseases). The regulation doesn’t but outline what is taken into account an inexpensive discover. Nonetheless, the regulation states, “use of depart have to be scheduled to forestall undue hardship on the employer.”
How a lot can an worker obtain throughout depart?
Employers should pay workers their common wages throughout paid depart.
Employers should additionally keep workers’ advantages (e.g., medical health insurance) for workers on depart. Staff can not lose accrued worker advantages in the event that they take paid depart.
Can workers carry over accrued time?
Staff can carry over as much as 40 hours to the following 12 months.
What are the penalties for not being compliant?
Employers who violate the regulation shall be topic to penalties of as much as $1,000 per violation.
You possibly can contact the state for extra info.
The place can I discover extra info?
You possibly can study extra about Maine’s Earned Paid Depart by trying out the Division of Labor’s FAQs.
Need assistance recording your workers’ accrued paid sick depart? Patriot’s on-line time and attendance software program is a good add-on to our on-line payroll software program. Begin your self-guided demo right now!
This text has been up to date from its authentic publication date of September 11, 2019.
This isn’t meant as authorized recommendation; for extra info, please click on right here.